Let’s go Yankees???

June 20, 2006:
     Ya know what? Maybe it wouldn’t be so terrible if the Yankees won tonight. And tomorrow, too.
     Now wait a second… some of you out there may be wondering if we here at "Willie Ball" have gotten a little bit soft since we’ve become expecting fathers. Dad, Jen, Jeff, Uncle Rick… calm down.  I can assure all of you out there… I’d still rather watch an evening of programming on Al-Jazeera than one hour of YES Network.
     It’s just that the Bombers happen to be suiting up against the Phillies… our closest (but not really that close) rival in the NL East, and I’d like to wrap this division up as soon as possible.
     If we can get this whole thing done by say, July, I’d be a happy guy, and for that reason… I’d like to lead all of you in Met Nation in a chant of "Let’s Go Yank-ees."
     I won’t be chuckling tonight if A-Rod happens to pop one into shallow centerfield with runners in scoring position and the game on the line.  And I’m not going to grumble about a lack of bullpen depth if Joe Torre needs to call Mariano Rivera into the 8th inning of a tie game tonight.
     Think I care if Flash Gordon serves up some Humble Pie to his old teammates? Nope.
     This is one Met fan who won’t be reaching for his puke-bucket if, during the next two nights, he hears John Sterling proclaim: "The Yankees win! Thaaaaaaaaa Yankees win!"
Getting back on Trach
     Willie and the boys have dropped three of their last four and turn to Steve Trachsel tonight to straighten things out. Up-and-down (though lately more down) Trax has been the weak link in the rotation this season. Hopefully he gives us a good start tonight.
Tonight:

One comment

  1. john

    Hey, I totally agree with you about not rooting for the yankees. The Yankees are the enemy in my mind, I seriously can tell you it would not be any different if the Phils were 3 games out. I cant stand when that ***** sterling makes that call on the radio, THHHHHHHEEEE YANKKKKEEES WINNNN. Or when Michael Kay calls a SEEEE YAAAA, HOMMME RUNN BY THHHHE GIAMMMBINNNO, They are my most hated team in baseball and i really would love to see the mets keep on winning and the yanks keep on dropping down spots in the Nl East.
    John

    http://www.allthewrightstuff.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment